koasebo.blogg.se

Long path tool full version
Long path tool full version








This is not a new problem and it is not confined to build 7600, or for that matter the OS at all, but rather a limitation that is clearly documented in the all NTFS specifications, including the latest NTFS revisions.

Long path tool full version windows#

Until the tree length is short enough Windows was too unstable to find the last 2 anomolies manually. In my scenario there were 2 more folders with the same problem 5 or 10 levels down from the 1st "Application Data" that I manually renamed as well. The messy part is that you must "end task" on the command window in order to stop the infinite loop. After running trial.cmd you can delete from the top level folder without errors. the /XJ option should prevent the issue in future. I created 2 batch files in order to resolve the issue quickly. It would appear the issue is a length limitation in the folder structure. You may wish to try adding the "/XJ" option to the robocopy command so that it doesn't follow junctions. I'm pretty sure the windows \User directory tree has junctions that could create this situation. This is like a bad nightmare.īrian Hall Brain, Could be that the robocopy script causes the recursion in the target directory tree because of junction points in the source. At the moment, I'm still flailing around trying to strategically move and delete folders and sub folders, but I'm starting to get tired. Unfortunately, it wasn't able to delete the files. However, I did receive this curious error while attempting to delete one of the sub folders: I've tried WinDirStat which I think is similar to Scanner, that also shows a graphical representation of the folders and disk space consumption. Sometimes it would delete after a minute or two, and sometimes, it would show the same "Path too long" error as shown previously. Here is a screen shot of only a handful: I drilled down many layers, and periodically moved the Application Data folder to the root of the D:\ and deleted it. It seemed to go on literally forever, and as I navigated down the Application Data folders, the system got a little sluggish and weird. I showed the protected operating system files and saw that there are many copies of Application Data within itself (consuming a massive amount of storage). It seems like a cutting-edge operating system should be able to handle a simple delete operation without so much trouble.īrian Hall The folder that I cannot delete was put there using a Robocopy script (using the /MIR command-line switch) that synchronizes my Windows profile. I've tried third-party utilities, checked the disk for errors, tried deleting the folder from the command line, and nothing has been able to delete this folder. Seriously, I just want to delete this folder. I moved this folder to the root of my drive, I even tried renaming it, but it never gets deleted. There is one folder, that is actually completely empty, that refuses to be deleted. " as shown here: So, I deleted all sub folders and files in an attempt to work around this problem. Try moving to a location which has a shorter path name, or try renaming to shorter name(s) before attempting this operation. " as shown here: Then, after I "Skip" this item, I get another similar error, but this time it says, " Source Path Too Long: The source file name(s) are larger than is supported by the file system. You can shorten the file name and try again, or try a location that has a shorter path. I'm simply trying to delete a folder from my backup drive in Windows 7, but Windows shows the error, " Destination Path Too Long: The file name(s) would be too long for the destination folder. I've seen other similar posts, but none of them provides an actual solution that has worked for this ridiculous problem I'm having.








Long path tool full version